Pregnant women: Non-observance of Sawm (fasting) and those Pregnant women experiencing bleeding

Pregnant women: Non-observance of Sawm (fasting) :
If a pregnant woman is worried lest Sawm should harm her or her embryo, she is allowed to refrain from Sawm, provided that she makes up for the days of Sawm she misses. A pregnant woman falls under the same ruling as a sick person who cannot fast or fears that Sawm may cause them harm. Allah (Exalted be He) says:
…and whoever is ill or on a journey, the same number [of days which one did not observe Saum (fasts) must be made up] from other days.

Pregnant fasting women experiencing bleeding
Q: I was pregnant during the blessed month of Ramadan. I had a vaginal bleeding on Ramadan 20th, but I neither ate nor drank, i.e., I kept fasting. During my stay in the hospital I broke my Sawm (Fast) for four days. After Ramadan I made up for the days of Sawm I missed. Should I make up for them again, bearing in mind that I have not given birth yet? Please advise me, may Allah
reward you.

A: Your observing Sawm while having vaginal bleeding during pregnancy has no effect on the validity of your Sawm, just like the case of Istihadah (abnormal vaginal bleeding outside the menstrual or post-partum period). Therefore, your Sawm is valid. Moreover, your making up for the four days you missed during your stay in hospital after Ramadan discharges the obligation, and you do not have to fast them again.

May Allah grant us success.
May peace and blessings be upon our Prophet Muhammad, his family, and Companions.
Permanent Committee for Scholarly Research and Ifta’
http://www.alifta.com/Fatawa/FatawaChapters.aspx?languagename=en&View=Page&PageID=166&PageNo=1&BookID=24

Leave a Reply

